Mercury prize winning, British band Gomez are announcing the 20th anniversary release…

 [photo credit: Scarlet Page]

Mercury prize winning, British band Gomez are announcing the 20th anniversary release of their triumphant second album ‘Liquid Skin’. The band are also sharing a previously unheard track from the Liquid Skin sessions called ‘Throwin’ Myself Away’.

Abbey Road’s Frank Arkwright has delved into the archives to remaster ‘Liquid Skin’ from the original tapes which will be released digitally & as a special 2CD / 2LP standard & coloured edition featuring 19 unreleased tracks.  Fans can pre-order it here

Surrounded by instruments, broken toys and a four-track recorder, Gomez recorded large parts of their debut album Bring It On in a garage in their hometown of Southport. To create its follow-up, Liquid Skin, the group would expand their horizons sonically and geographically, visiting America, an ill-fated English stately home & some of the finest recording studios in the world between 1998 and 1999. 

There was no pause between Bring It On and Liquid Skin – the records were released just 518 days apart. “The first album and this one merge into one in a lot of ways. A lot of the tracks were written at the same time” explains singer/guitarist Ben Ottowell. “There’s a song called ‘Bring It On’ on Liquid Skin, which says it all really. They were made very closely together, so it seemed like part of the same process. We were constantly making records”.

As a result, writing and recording for Gomez’s second album did not so much have a definitive start but instead it emerged out of the same creative energy as their debut, although it soon took its own distinctive path…

Gomez’s drummer Olly Peakcock commented; “Liquid Skin was the step from the four track and recording in a garage to us accepting – in the most ridiculous way – that we were now doing music professionally. ‘Oh shit we somehow got our record deal, we are a band and we go to the studio now. We’re not going to be hacking it all together.’ There was an excitement because there were less limitations” .

“We were just using things we had access to… and for this album we had access to an orchestra! We just had a broader palette and we were getting more confident” added Ben.

Going to Number 2 in the UK Album Chart on its release in September 1999, Liquid Skin not only justified the label’s faith to allow the band to work how and where they wanted, but it saw the British band crystallize their unique sound & grow audiences in America, Australia and other parts of the world, confirming that their Mercury Prize-winning debut was no fluke.

The new Liquid Skin deluxe 2CD will include 5 previously unreleased tracks, 4 previously unreleased alternate versions and 9 live tracks recorded at The Fillmore in San Francisco in 2000. There will be an accompanying remastered double LP release on black 180gm + a limited D2C transparent edition too.

In support of the release, Gomez have also recently announced a string of special headline dates and festival performances this July such as LatitudeKendall Callingand London’s Shepherd’s Bush Empire. The band also tour Australia and New Zealand later in the year, and will perform both Bring It On AND Liquid Skin in their entirety at both the Auckland and Brisbane shows.

18 Bexhill De La Warr Pavilion 18-21 Latitude Festival Suffolk20 Larmer Tree Festival Salisbury 21 London Shepherds Bush Empire 23 Sheffield Leadmill 24 Glasgow O2 Academy 25 Kendal Calling Kendall 26 Manchester Ritz  

01 Auckland, Powerstation
03 Melbourne Lost Lands Festival 
05 Sydney The Metro, 
07 Perth Freo Social, – SOLD OUT
08 Perth Freo Social
10 Melbourne The Croxton, – SOLD OUT
11 Melbourne The Croxton 
12 Adelaide The Gov,
13 Brisbane The Tivoli, 
14 Brisbane The Tivoli, – SOLD OUT
CD1:Liquid Skin
 REMASTERED 1 Hangover 2 Revolutionary Kind 3 Bring It On 4 Blue Moon Rising 5 Las Vegas Dealer 6 We Haven’t Turned Around 7 Fill My Cup 8 Rhythm & Blues Alibi 9 Rosalita 10 California 11 Devil Will Ride
Previously unreleased demos12 Throwin’ Myself Away 13 Nobody’s Girl 14 Someday 15 Brother Lead 16 Summer

CD2: Previously unreleased alternate versions

1 High On Liquid Skin (Demo) 2 We Haven’t Turned Around (No Orchestra) 3 Rosalita (Kit Version) 4 Las Vegas Dealer (Ben Vocal)
Live at The Fillmore, San Francisco, 20005 Hangover 6 Blue Moon Rising 7 Rhythm & Blues Alibi 8 Rosemary 9 Do’s & Don’ts 10 Las Vegas Dealer 11 We Haven’t Turned Around 12 Devil Will Ride 13 Bring It On 14 Gomez In A Bucket
‘LIQUID SKIN’ – THE 20TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION Due for Release on 12th July Via Virgin/UMC

To pre-order the Ltd Clear Vinyl LP, CD or 180g Vinyl go to GomezTheBand.com
CONNECT WITH GOMEZ Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Instagram Feed Instagram Feed Instagram Feed Instagram Feed Instagram Feed Instagram Feed
More Stories
Polyamorous Passion: Octa Octa’s ‘For Lovers’